These are a few of my favourite things

On my 2014 to-do list for this year (yep, that one I mentioned in this blog post), I plan to clear out the items we have in storage, and have had for years. We aren’t hoarders (well I don’t think we are) but with Missy’s arrival 5yrs ago, I’ve clung on to so many clothes, books, toys etc, just in case we have another girl. Well, we now have a boy, JD. Daddy Bunny has had me see reason and I am more than happy to let go.

I put off starting this task since January, but with spring in the air, I sprung into action (get it?) this month. First up, is a clear out of all her old clothes, withholding a few unisex items for JD and sending the rest out door. Well, that was my initial plan until a friend suggested I might want to hold on to a few items for, keepsake. Sound advice cos oh my, there are some things I struggled to part with. Not in an emotional blubbering broody sort of way. Nah. I’ts just that some items has invoked flashbacks to moments in time, events we attended, holidays we’ve had, birthdays celebrated etc. I am being ruthless though and only holding on to just a few bits. From Missy’s keepsake collection, here are just a few of my favourite things.

One of the outfits Missy wore for her first birthday party,

One of the outfits Missy wore for her first birthday party,

Fab Union Jack dress bought ahead of London 2012 Olympics. Wore this so often that year and its last outing was to the Olympic Stadium for the Paralympic Games

Fab Union Jack dress bought ahead of the London 2012 Olympics Wore this so often that year and its last outing was to the Olympic Stadium for the Paralympic Games

Missy started ballet just after she turned 2. I haven't found her very first ballet dress and shoes, hope it's still in one of the unopened bags.

Missy started ballet just after she turned 2. I haven’t found her very first ballet dress and shoes, hope it’s still in one of the unopened bags.

Missy's very first pair booties (hand knitted) from a friend of mine and her first pair of adult-like boots which she wore around Age 2.

Missy’s very first pair booties (hand knitted) bought by a friend and her first pair of adult-like boots which she wore around Age 2.

Lovely silver metallic dress she wore to our friends' winter wedding in London

Lovely silver metallic dress she wore to a friends’ winter wedding in London

Missy's christening dress, a very special day

Missy’s christening dress, a very special day

What childhood item of yours do you still hold on to?

MBx

Leave a Reply

